Skip to main content

'Harry Potter and the Cursed Child' Synopsis Revealed

...and we all just won the House Cup

Just one day after the official logo for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, the new play being developed by J.K. Rowling, was released, even bigger news has broke. Rowling previously stated that the two-part play will not be a prequel, and as it turns out: IT'S A SEQUEL.

If you need a moment to compose yourself, we completely understand. 

Courtesy of http://bit.ly/1OWa8U6 

Pottermore released this synopsis, stating that the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series:

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

 

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

Many thoughts are running through our heads after reading that synopsis. Is Albus ‘dark’? Or does this mean Harry and Albus will have to come together to, once again, fight forces of darkness. Whatever the plotline, one thing is clear: we are finally going to know what happens after ‘Nineteen Years Later.’

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child will be performed in London’s West End summer 2016, and will feature a cast of over 30 actors. According to Pottermore, tickets go on sale for those who have registered for priority booking at 11am GMT on Wednesday, October 28, and opens to the general public on Friday, October 30 at 11am GMT (7am EST; 4am PST for the super dedicated.) 

What do you think about this new information, and will you be heading to London next summer? Check out the official website for more details. 

Image courtesy of Giphy

Featured image courtesy of http://bit.ly/1jDYdPu