Skip to main content
Big Little Lies Cast

7 Books to Read If You Loved 'Big Little Lies'

Explore secrets, lies, and betrayal in these seven novels

Done with Big Little Lies and looking for your next big read? After the HUGE success that the Big Little Lies limited series had at the Emmys, we can’t wait for the will-they-won’t-they question between HBO and a second season. For those of you who are like us and need some instant gratification, here are seven books that resemble Big Little Lies in the best ways.

 

Big Little Lies

Image Courtesy of HBO

 

  1. Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty 

 

Truly Madly Guilty

Image Via Goodreads

 

Who better to get our Big Little Lies fix from other than Liane Moriarty herself? Rumors are Reese Witherspoon’s production company, the same company that produced Big Little Lies, has optioned the rights to Moriarty’s newest novel! Be on the look out for the adaptation of Truly Madly Guilty. The events that transpire at a seemingly enjoyable barbecue change the lives of six adults forever. In true Moriarty fashion, you can expect a brilliant tale weaving through time and character’s minds to reveal the devastating events of the weekend.

 

  1. Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng 

 

Little Fires Everywhere

Image Via Penguin Random House 

 

This book recommended from Reese Witherspoon’s Book Club incorporates similar themes found in Moriarty’s work. From Amazon: “Little Fires Everywhere explores the weight of secrets, the nature of art and identity, and the ferocious pull of motherhood – and the danger of believing that following the rules can avert disaster.”

 

 

  1. After I Do by Taylor Jenkins Reid  

 

After I Do

Image Via Goodreads

 

What do you do when your marriage just isn’t working out? Lauren and Ryan’s plan is to take a year off of marriage and explore who they are as separate people. With an agreed upon rule of no contact for one year, Lauren rediscovers love in her own beautiful way in this intelligently written novel.

 

 

  1. You Will Know Me by Megan Abbott  

 

You Will Know Me

Image Via Goodreads

 

If you loved the theme of parental love in Big Little Lies, this book is for you. From Amazon: “You Will Know Me is a breathless rollercoaster of a novel about the desperate limits of parental sacrifice, furtive desire, and the staggering force of ambition.”

 

  1. The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena   

 

The Couple Next Door

Image Via Goodreads

 

Be prepared for secrets, lies, and betrayal to be revealed in this thrilling novel centered around a dinner party. Anne and Marco are at their neighbors’ house while their baby sleeps next door, only to return home to an empty crib. Will Detective Rasbach be able to reveal the couple next door’s mysterious secret?

 

  1. The Dinner by Herman Koch 

 

The Dinner

Image Via BookPage

 

This Dutch novel has been turned into a movie starring Richard Gere, however, we recommend you skip the film and read the book – of course. From Amazon:

 

An internationally bestselling phenomenon: the darkly suspenseful, highly controversial tale of two families struggling to make the hardest decision of their lives -- all over the course of one meal. Tautly written, incredibly gripping, and told by an unforgettable narrator, The Dinner promises to be the topic of countless dinner party debates. Skewering everything from parenting values to pretentious menus to political convictions, this novel reveals the dark side of genteel society and asks what each of us would do in the face of unimaginable tragedy.

 

  1. The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty   

 

The Husband's Secret

Image Via Amazon

 

Moriarty does it again! This novel has everything you've come to expect from the writer – witty insight into its main characters, secrets, betrayal, and love. What would you do if you found a letter addressed to you, but only to be opened at the time of the sender’s death? For Cecilia, this letter will unravel her entire life and the lives around her – but it true Pandora fashion, once it’s been opened you can’t return the horrors to the box.

 

Feature Images Courtesy of BookPage, Goodreads, and Penguin Random House